Sunday, 2 September 2012

[Updated] Android OS Versions And Code Names History

Android is a mobile operating system developed by Google Inc. Google released their first android version Android beta on November 5, 2007, the history involves the version updates from 1.0 to till date. These updates typically fix bugs and adds new features. Now they just released their 11th update named Jelly Bean 4.1 on June 27, 2012 on Google I/O Conference.

The Android OS code names released till now are Listed below.
  1.  Android Beta
  2.  Android 1.0 (Astro)
  3.  Android 1.1 (Bender)
  4.  Android 1.5 (Cupcake)
  5.  Android 1.6 (Donut)
  6.  Android 2.0/2.1 (Eclair)
  7.  Android 2.2.x (Froyo)
  8.  Android 2.3.x (Gingerbread)
  9.  Android 3.0/3.1/3.2 (Honeycomb)
  10.  Android 4.0.x (Ice Cream Sandwich)
  11.  Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean)
  12.  Android 4.2 (Jelly Bean)
  13.  Android 4.3 (Jelly Bean)
  14.  Android 4.4 (KitKat)
Have you found anything interesting about its code names ?? As you can see all these are names of bakery items like sweets and chocolates , ie it has been developed under a codename based on a dessert item. You can also notice that the names are in alphabetical order. Obviously the next Android OS after Jelly Bean will be start with the letter 'k', and it probably going to be Key Lime Pie, which will release in late 2013. 

[Update]: Google announced next operation system after jelly bean called Android KitKat.
Share it Please

About is a technology website founded on June,2011 with the intention of providing tips,tricks and hacks about Computers, Mobiles, Internet, Social Networking, Software's and Mobile Networks. Follow Us on Facebook Twitter and Google Plus


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Copyright @ 2013 Trickz Cafe. Designed by Templateism | Love for The Globe Press